Brief Fibromyalgia Health Update

Some of you know that I have fibromyalgia. It’s not a disease, but a syndrome of problems that results in, among other things, chronic pain, chronic fatigue, and poor sleep. Towards the end of the last year, I began seeing an integrative medicine doctor in the city who prescribed me some supplements.

When I saw him in March, I said I did not think a few supplements were helping so I was stopping them. A month later, I was exhausted again and went back on. Lo and behold, my energy level rebounded in days. I had a follow up recently and told him about this. I also said that what I really wanted to see was an improvement in this chronic pain that I live with.

The pain is both chronic and changes little. Since summer began in earnest with high humidity and heat, I have been feeling worse. Warm and drier is good; hot and humid not so much, unless I’m at the beach. Bitter cold is no good, either. Being warm dressed on a semi-cold day feels nice. And what I mean by nice is a type of weather pattern that doesn’t somehow make my pain worse.

About 10 days ago, I bought a new powder multivitamin that an online integrative doctor sells. My real life integrative doc is friends with online doctor, and I have bought supplements from online doctor’s web site before. I had just finished a packet of multivitamins, but didn’t want to continue doing that. So I bought this powder that tastes very much like Tang.

And ever since I have been taking this multivitamin in my water every morning, I have had a lot more energy throughout the day. Even better than that, I have been able to tackle tasks around the house with ease. When I say ease, I mean that I simply do them after I decide to do them. When you live with pain and fatigue, sometimes the things you want to do don’t get any farther than ricocheting around your brain. After a while, you feel guilty because there are things you should be doing without an ounce of motivation to do them. The vitamins have brought me energy and removed the procrastination. Somehow.

Now the bigger mountain is the one built on pain. My doc suggested I increase one of my supplements called Ribose, which he has claimed has worked to help eliminate persist pain in his other fibromyalgia patients. I will let you know one way or the other. I can tell you know that, if the Ribose does work to eventually eliminate my pain, you will most likely found out when you hear my cry for joy instead of on this blog.

Here’s to hoping!

4 Comments

  1. I am really pleased you posted this. Talk about synchronicity lol Not 5 minutes ago I was just replying to a comment about supplement powders.
    You might be interested in the post I blogged today and the book I have just read. It explains the basis of cfs and FM.
    D-ribose is about to become part of my supplement routine too 🙂

  2. I started taking D-Ribose, CoQ10, and L-Carnitine Tartrate. For some reason, I thought they weren’t working so I stopped. A month later, I was back to being exhausted, so I started taking them again and the energy was back. Then I found a multivitamin from an American doctor Dr. Jacob Teitelbaum whom my integrative medicine (IM) doc knows. Dr. T has a line From Fatigued to Fantastic, and I got the powedered multivitamin. Even using half a scoop, I felt a change in my energy level on top of what I had gotten back.

    I read your blog post. Yes, the mitochondrial issue. I’ve discussed that with my IM doc. I told him that I’m still in a lot of pain, so he wants me to up the ribose and do more things for my sleep hygiene. And, yes, I agree – that’s a terrible name for it. 😀

    It’s interesting how we’re kind of at the same point doing similar things for our FM. I’ve had it for at least 7 years. I really want to be off these pain meds I’m on. I hope what we’re doing helps. 😀

  3. My initial ‘discovery’ of the mitochondrial failure was from research findings that FM sufferers have reduced amounts of Co-Q10, d-ribose and human growth hormone in our cells so I started taking co-q10 and that ‘coming down with the flu’ feeling eased a lot 🙂 but the l-carnitine only came to my attention when I read the book this week. It is really good to meet someone who is travelling the same path 🙂 and has seen benefits too.
    I feel like I have some real hope again with this 😀

Leave a Reply

