A Two-Pronged Call for Memoir Suggestions

As you may know, I am in the midst of writing a memoir regarding how my many and/or severe illnesses affected my life. As part of my research, I have been reading them as well to get an idea of the kinds that are selling and have sold.

To date I have read the following:

From my local library, I requested

Out of all the ones I have read, only Dying to Be Me is a memoir written around an illness and how it affected the author’s life.

From my readers, I would like to hear from you on any of the following:

  • Your recommendations on medical/illness memoirs;
  • Your recommendations for the last memoir you read and why you liked it;
  • Your suggestions for things you’d want me to cover in writing my medical memoir.

Thank you!

5 Comments

  1. It was a splurge – I’m used to paying below $10 for Kindle purchases. However, I’ve read many memoirs by those with mood disorders, and Denise’s book definitely stood out. The fact that she was born in New Zealand, educated in London, and returned to live in New Zealand (one of my favorite places in the world) & is an well-known mental health advocate really drew me in. I hope you enjoy it!!

Leave a Reply

