The Kind of Man I’d Wish For You

Last time I saw my niece, she looked the most beautiful I have ever seen her. Tomorrow, she will attend her junior prom. I starting thinking about my own junior and senior proms, the black and white dresses I wore, and the friends who came as my dates. There’s something about being 17 and attending prom that makes you feel the cusp of your adulthood with much ahead to anticipate. Choosing a life partner is a huge part of that.

If my niece is as lucky as I am, she will find the kind of man that I have been so lucky to find. I am convinced that my husband Mark is an angel who came down from heaven in order to spend his life with me. The man has more patience than the patience of all the Saints put together. He is, by nature, gentle, kind, and selfless. I have never met anyone who gives from the heart as easily and readily as he.

Mark regularly puts me first, is communicative and honest, and does not pick arguments. Not a single mean bone resides in his body. He’s intelligent, pursues hobbies and interests of his own, and never makes me feel guilty. He encourages me to follow my heart, develop my own interests, and has supported me in countless ways.

More than anything, Mark makes me feel loved. When I tell him he is the best thing that ever happened to me, he protests that it is he who is the lucky one. Affectionate and loving, Mark cares about my feelings and is a great listener.

I love his sense of humor. I could be pissed off about something, and Mark will find a way to cast an amusing twist on the situation. Like the sun breaking through storm clouds, I am suddenly enlightened and happy. When he laughs, I love to watch the laugh lines that crinkle at the corner of his eyes. He’s handsome, sexy, and is an attentive lover. As if it couldn’t get any better, Mark is  utterly devoted, faithful, and loyal.

I once told Mark that I used to have an idea of the kind of man I wanted to spend my life with, a man who was smart, funny, and kind. However, Mark blew my ideas apart and showed me how reality could be better than I imagined. If my Mark, my angel in human form, was the template for men in the world, the world would be a much, much better place.

Leave a Reply

