Music Podcast Highlight: Communion After Dark

My husband has been listening to Communion After Dark‘s podcast for years. I have listened in a few times, but I had not become a fan where I had to listen every week. Some time in November, that changed. I became hooked, and I haven’t looked back. Since I love them so much, I thought I’d give them a shoutout and a plug so that you can become hooked on them, too.

They style their podcast as:

Spotlighting the latest and the best in alternative electronic music, Communion After Dark is hosted weekly by DJs Mark Paradise (of Tampa’s club The Castle), DJ Bryant Griffin (of the band Ien Oblique), DJ Tom Gold (Resident DJ at The Castle) and DJ Maus.

Some of the bands they played on their latest podcast released on January 5, 2015 include Leatherstrip, L’Ame Immortelle, Rotersand, Hydroxie, Cynosic, and Mr. Kitty. I’ve been turned onto so much great music by old and new artists alike that my interest in music has been reinvigorated. I think the last time traditional radio did that for me was the early 1990’s.

If you’re not sure what song is playing, you can always check against their posted songlist. You can listen directly from this page, or you can listen to their podcast via iTunes, which is what I usually do. However, you can also listen on YouTube, as long as DJ Maus has updated their page.

Their podcast format is a lot of fun. The show begins point blank with a movie quote (at least, I think they’re all from movies). I am almost able to quote the “chicken of the cave” scene from Anchorman 2 verbatim, all thanks to these guys, even though I haven’t seen the movie. It makes me want to go see it, though. I laughed with delight when I heard the “boom stick” scene from Evil Dead 3: Bruce Campbell vs. Army of Darkness because it is one of my favorites. Every week, something new. I really dig it.

Most weeks, DJs Paradise, Griffin, and Maus take turns playing sets of five songs each, and each podcast lasts at minimum an hour and 15 minutes. DJ Gold pops in once in a while, and they recently had Dirk Steyer from Accessory throw in a set. The DJ team get along great, have a great time, make a lot jokes, and rag on each other. All with love.

And with two drinking sets! One DJ makes a surprise drink for the others. They all drink at the same time, and they may or may not get the same drink. Listening to their reactions is hilarious, although I don’t think I could pull off chugging shots the way these three seem to be able to do.

After all the sets are done, one of the DJs plays an old-school song to round out the set. The show ends with a series of clips and quotes that remain the same from podcast to podcast.

I have been a huge fan of this music genre for decades, and I can’t understand why I didn’t get into them earlier. Just goes to show you that we all make mistakes. At least, with this one, I can go back and listen to all the ones that I missed! And I have listened to a number of their podcasts more than once.

Because good music never gets old.

Leave a Reply

