Lessons Learned + Health Update

Apologies to my readers for missing my regular Monday blog post and neglecting to let you know when I would be back. So here I am, back with a couple of lessons that I have learned recently and a health update.

LESSONS LEARNED

Lesson #1: Never put off writing your blog post for “when you get home” from going into New York City because “when you get home” might well be past “when I should be asleep” and “when I am able to think clearly”.

Lesson #2: Working out in the morning truly makes you feel great and energized for the day!

I wanted to make sure I got my Monday workout in before my city trip because I knew I wouldn’t have time for it afterwards. I’m so glad I did! Hours later, I was still in an upbeat mood and energized about my day.

Lesson #3: Working out makes you stronger in ways that you might not normally perceive.

For my workout, I decided to go to an aqua fit class at my gym. Although trying to move quickly through water while holding weights is still extremely difficult, I found that the steps were easier. I also had more energy for longer and did not feel exhausted by the end of the class. I can only attribute this to the weight lifting workouts that I have added to my life.

HEALTH UPDATE

Last month, I went for my first visit with a functional medicine doctor in NYC about my fibromyalgia. From our discussion, he recommended folic acid and B12 shots that were administered in his office, as well as thyroid medication and supplements. He called the custom medication to the pharmacy as I sat there. I also left with an order for bloodwork that was to be done two weeks before the followup.

In yesterday’s follow up, I told him the shots gave me a 3 day burst of energy until I had one alcoholic drink that set me back energy-wise. Then we went over the test results: low thyroid, which we knew; low morning cortisol; low Vitamin D; very low Vitamin C; low magnesium; and very low iron. He called in a higher dose of the current thryoid RX and wrote me an additional thyroid RX. Finally, he noticed an elevated peptide that could be indicative of bone loss/osteoporosis, so he’s going to check its values again with the next round of bloodwork.

After some discussion, he confirmed that I probably have Candida and suggested dietary means to starve it or he could write me an RX of diflucan. I couldn’t make up my mind, so he wrote me the RX so I could make up my mind. He also gave me an RX for another round of bloodwork so that we can see how his recommendations are working.   I have a followup with him towards the end of March.

I can only say that I hope restoring vitamins and minerals in my body will ease this chronic pain that I have lived with for over 5 years. I would like to feel lighthearted and free, but it’s nigh impossible when the gravity of pain pulls you down. The next time you meet someone who seems grouchy, consider that they might be suffering in ways that you cannot see and in ways that you cannot know.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Deciphering Health | playswithwords's Weblog

Leave a Reply

