Stepping Up to the Health Plate

I must confess: I have a lazy streak.

I figure that lazy streak was my counterpoint to the intense, competitive drive I have used over the years both to propel me forward and avoid dealing with issues. A one-two punch!

Now, at least 10 years in the making, I have been riddled with fibromyalgia. I have managed to get my sleep issues under control by using melatonin and/or Cymbalta to get a better night’s sleep, having regular sleep hours, and not using the computer a couple of hours before bedtime.

One area where I have not managed to get my act together is my health. The main problem is consistency. In that I have none when it comes to exercise. I rejoined a gym in February after moving to NY, and I began to go to the pool to do my aqua therapy and attend water aerobics classes.

When I got a call from the gym staff saying that my fitness test was about to expire, I decided to go in. I had paid for it, so why not?

I should have been more suspicious.

After meeting with a very able trainer named Abir, I got brought to a desk to talk about training. While my BMI is in the middle of the normal range, my body fat cent was under 28% of my weight. Eek!! When I said I couldn’t pay the $55 a session, he went and got his manager.

I should know better by now what’s coming.

The manager of the club, John, was direct, straightforward, and firm. I could feel myself being played, but when he dangled a $35 a session fee in front of my face and told me that building muscle would help stretch out the myofascial pain spots, I was like Where do I sign up?!

And sign up for personal training for a 9 month period is what I did. I went in two days later to meet John for initial numbers. I get a book with my stats that gets updated every time I come in. I am so ready to get better. I will do this weight training thing if it kills me. If these guys can also get me a bikini body as a bonus, I will be flying high come next year. I have my first session tomorrow.

What I really want is to work hard, build up my body, and feel good again so I can live my life without pain. I want to become one of those people who have so much energy, that they can pursue their dreams to their fullest.

Leave a Reply

