Mother’s Day Presents

For four days ending yesterday on Mother’s Day, my husband, my mother, and I drove to and from Massachusetts to visit family, friends, and take care of house stuff. This was the first trip my 83 year-old mom since my dad died in December. The last time they went anywhere together was 2008 before my dad had a stroke.

Thursday, we made it into our Plainville, MA hotel after a 6 hour drive including stops and lunch in Mystic, CT. With all of us so tired, we all vegged out for the night reading and/or writing.

On Friday, we treated my husband’s 92 year old aunt to lunch for her birthday that day. Afterwards, my husband went home to nap while we ladies went to the mall to walk and shop at J.C. Penney’s. My mother said that this was the first time she had fun since my dad died.

Later that night, we picked up our aunt and went over to my brother- and sister-in-law’s house. For the first time, my 16-year old niece and 10 year-old nephew hung out with the adults. We were all joking, laughing, and teasing other over coffee, homemade vanilla cream pie that our aunt made, and a platter of cookies. I cannot remember the last time I laughed so much with my husband’s family. Great, great day filled with fantastic memories.

On Saturday, we drove into Cambridge, MA. We met a couple of dear friends for lunch. My mom had a stomachache, so I walked her back to the hotel and then met up with our friends again. We chatted, laughed, and ate ice cream from Toscanini’s.  My husband and I met with a painter to discuss painting the exterior of our home that we are renting out, and we talked to our current property manager about transitioning to new tenants. Because it was getting late and my mother was still not feeling well, my husband and I went for a snack and drink in the hotel restaurant.

The bed in that hotel was not comfortable, and I was up in pain at 4am. After checking out, we met a dear friend at Veggie Galaxy for morning breakfast. I had been dying to take my mom there, and she enjoyed the stuffed french toast. We had to drive to and from West Roxbury, MA in order to pick up a rental truck to transport some items that we left at the house. After packing the truck and getting food supplies at Starbucks, we headed home for New York.

On the way home, I played the Leonard Cohen channel on Pandora. After a while my mom asked, “You like listening to this kind of music? It’s going to put you to sleep.” I said, “Yeah, sometimes. I’ll play something peppier for you.” So I changed the channel to Beborn Beton, and my mom was tapping along to the songs.

Last week, Massachusetts began a campaign to get drivers to use their blinkers when changing lanes. On the electronic signs along the highway, the signs asked “Changing lanes?” followed by this message:

Blinkah

For those of you who do not knot, the New England accent tends to drop the ending ‘r’ sound and turns it into an ‘AH’ sound, the kind of ‘AH’ sound that you might make when the doctor is holding your tongue with a depressor. For a while, my mom kept saying ‘blinkah’ when she saw a driver not use their blinkers. That’s pretty darn cute when you consider that my mother is an 83 year-old Italian with an accent. While driving in MA, I noticed an incredible amount of blinker usage that I can only attribute to the increased awareness that the electronic boards brought about.

At another point, I was explaining something to my mom. She said to me, “You know, I’m not trying to tell you what to do. You can drive however you want.” I reached over to touch her arm gently and said, “I know that, mom. I know you’re not trying to tell me what to do. I was just sharing information.” My mom turned to me and said, “You know, we really get along great.”

On Mother’s Day, we give presents to our mothers. This time, I got some of my own.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

