Hello. My name is Wendy, and I’m a write-aholic….

One morning when I was writing my morning pages, I realized that I was writing an idea for a self-help book that had been bouncing around in my mind for some time.

That would make Book idea #3 just this year alone, along with an idea for a short story. Today I had another idea for a premise of a dystopian society short story. I then realized: I have a problem.

A writing problem. Now that I have declared myself a writing and not doing enough of it, the universe is soft-balling me ideas. The problem is that I am not progress on the ideas I have, let alone make time for the new one.

Took me a few days to get back to it. This morning I typed out an idea that was part of the self-help book into Scrivener so I can start a file. I have no excuse now. I have plenty of choices of stories to work on. I just need to work on them.

Failing that, I need to create Writers Anonymous for poor souls like me whose writing ideas outstrip the the pace of their writing. Our meetings would start small in a circle of chairs that face each other. Someone would stand up and read:

THE Twelve STEPS OF Writers ANONYMOUS

  1. We admitted that we were powerless over our writing—that managing our writing ideas has gotten out of control.
  2. Came to believe that a Writer greater than ourselves could restore our plots to sanity.
  3. Made a decision to turn our story ideas over to the care of a damn good Editor as recommended by our Agent.
  4. Made a searching and fearless moral inventory of our Characters, their Flaws, and how it might bring them to the falling action.
  5. Listen to another Writer, to ourselves, and to an Editor the problems of our Plot.
  6. Were ready to have our Editor remove all these defects of Characters and Plot.
  7. Humbly asked our Editor to remove these defects and return our manuscript to us.
  8. Painstakingly went through the Manuscript and incorporated all Changes noted by our Editor.
  9. Continued to make Edits as required by our Story and not our Egos.
  10. Continued to make as many as Revisions as needed to create a solid final Draft for Publication.
  11. Sought through prayer and meditation to improve our sales numbers, hustling and marketing our Books to our target Audience.
  12. Having had a completed Book as the result of these Steps, we pick a new Writing project and start the process all over again at step #1.

Disclaimer: My steps are a satiric take on the 12 steps of Alcoholics Anonymous, which is Copyright © A.A. World Services, Inc. 

Leave a Reply

