Dessert Adventure: Chocolate Mousse

Earlier this year, I bought The Blood Sugar Solution and The Blood Sugar Solution Cookbook by Dr. Mark Hyman because I wanted to drastically reduce my sugar intake.

I bought the ingredients for the Chocolate Mousse recipe. The recipe is based on avocado and banana for its pudding-like consistency, but also include a bit of maple syrup, bittersweet chocolate, and strong decaf coffee (among other ingredients).

I have a second hand Kitchen Aid mixture that I used to blend it. This thing is terrible. It cannot blend things. The blades are way up on a hill that leaves anything below it untouched.

I dragged out my immersion blend, scraped the mousse into a bowl, and blended it briefly so there were no lumps. I would have taken a picture, but it looked sad in there. I checked the recipe: serves 4. I told my husband there wasn’t enough in there to feed 4 rats.

Then we tasted it: Very yummy! We can taste the banana but not the avocado so much, which is good. But it is on the bitter side. Suddenly, the serves 4 makes sense. You take a luxurious bite. Then you’re good for a while.

I rate this concoction: Highly Edible.

If you are looking for vegan, low-sugar, alternative meals, give The Blood Sugar Solution Cookbook a try!

Leave a Reply

