Back to Basics

“Remember that it is far harder and more painful to be a blocked artists than it is to do the work.”
Julia Cameron, The Artist’s Way

When I began this blog in January, I vowed to use it as a vehicle to write every day. I was humming along until last Friday, when I took a webinar. The moderator discussed having fewer, more meaningful updates instead of posting every day. What my brain heard was, “Stop blogging every day. You will annoy your readers with your nothingness.”

I took a break over the weekend. On Monday, I posted a poem I wrote that was inspired by Audre Lorde. Yesterday? I did not remember to blog until I lay down in bed. Already, what I must I relearn? That if I do not keep my priorities in mind, I will get distracted and forget.

I hope that you, dear readers, will not be annoyed when I write daily, nor will you think that I am writing nothingness. I have old mental habits to break that blogging for 21 days will not solve. These mental habits run deep, and they are my single biggest obstacle to tackle.

Today, I renew my commitment to blog here daily about something meaningful to me and hopefully to you. People’s needs and interests change, so I understand if something that once drew you to my blog no longer engages you. I accept that. I only hope that along the way I have inspired you.

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

