Can’t Get Music Off My Mind

Have you ever had the experience where you hear a catchy tune and then find yourself singing it to yourself for the next three days straight? I went through this last week, but now I can’t remember any of the notes or the band or the song.

Yesterday, I woke up with the song One of Us by Joan Osborne on my lips. Interestingly, I have not heard this song recently. Why did it come up? My favorite lyrics are in the chorus:

What if God was one of us?
Just a slob like one of us
Just a stranger on the bus
Trying to make his way home

I think part of my creativeness expresses itself through music. I sang in choral groups large and small during high school, which I loved. If I had an alternate life, I would live it as a singer. I would have asked for singing lessons, or spent my babysitting money on lessons, or tried to trade singing lessons for some other task I could perform in return. A few years ago, I took singing lessons. I simply did not have the ability to let go and let it all hang out, which is something you need to be able to do in order to sing emotions through the music. This is not news, if you’ve been reading my blog since January or so.

Back to the One of Us lyrics: The chorus in this song appeals to me as an ex-Catholic. The idea that God had both human and divine elements to Him is a central part of Catholic doctrine. Upon this idea rests the idea that Jesus’s suffering was not inconsequential because he was  part human; I no longer remember why his being half-divine did not alleviate this same suffering. I think that may have gone unanswered in my religious education classes. However, the idea that God is both among us and one of us resonates beautifully in the chorus, and it is one of the few ideas from which I used to draw comfort.

This morning I woke up with Turn the Beat Around By Vicki Sue Robinson in my head. Like One of Us, I have not heard this song recently. I walked into a craft store today in West Hempstead to hear this song blaring over the radio. Again, the lyrics in the chorus grab me:

Turn the beat around
Love to hear percussion
Turn it upside down
Love to hear percussion
Love to hear it

I love to hear someone sing out loud about what they love. For Ms. Robinson, percussion was her love. Not only is the tune catchy and makes you want to wiggle along with her, but you soon find that you’re lovin’ the percussion, too.

I wonder what music my mind will bring me tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

