Would You?

Crashing waves on Singing Beach, Manchester, MA

If you could strip away your face
to  show your vulnerable soul,
would you?

If you could sing out the pain I see
revealing all the shame that gleams,
would you?

If you could close your umbrella
against my cleansing rain of hope and forgiveness,
would you?

If you could raise your fist in cheers
when worldly pessimism washes you out,
would you?

If you could walk along the beaches’ rim
as oceans thrash apart your dreaming’s shells,
would you?

If I could kiss your mariner’s cheek with my sandy lips
and bring the men of old to dock in the port of your heart,
would you?

Would you let me share the voyages of my own heart
while you row the oars of patient listening?

Would you share with me your pirate songs
while I hoist the sails onward towards the waving skies?

Would you let your loving be dashed upon my internal moat
even as wraiths arose to swallow you whole?

I hope that you would
Like I hope for spring’s first blush of green
returning to fulfill its eternal promise

© 2014

Leave a Reply

