Post Purrday Hangover

In March 2012, I gave up alcohol drinking completely after a night of overindulgence that brought with it a full-body assault of pain, which I attribute to my having fibromyalgia. Whatever pain I had was amplified to a point where I cried and considered going to the hospital. As I was on Lyrica, which says not to drink while on it, I decided I had been stupid enough and that I would stop drinking alcohol altogether.

As my October 18th wedding anniversary approached, I decided one drink on special occasions would not hurt. What I have discovered is that it really depends on the drink. Last night, I slowly had one bourbon on the rocks with lemon and sugar. With the amount of food we had, I do not remember even feeling tipsy. Today has shown me again that, for me, not drinking alcohol is best.

I woke up, took my meds, and went back to sleep for three hours. Even though I got up, showered, and ate, my energy has been super low all day. I was ready to fall asleep on the couch at 7pm. I took all my vitamins, ran a couple of errands, and drank lots of water.

I think in the back of my head is a subconscious tape running a loop that keeps saying, One drink can’t hurt. How many times have we heard this line in a movie, in newspaper articles about people who have been caught drunk driving, and at parties we have attended as teens or in college?

But one drink can. It really can, especially if you drink heavy and fast and try to drive.

Even if we put aside the issue that I am on meds, the fact is I keep thinking it won’t when in fact it does hurt.

Time for some positive reprogramming! Here’s to not drinking. I’ll only be missing out on pain, brain fog, and exhaustion.

Sounds great to me!

2 Comments

  1. Oh, definitely. I have found that, the less I drink, the more sensitive I become. It doesn’t help that I chose bourbon instead of a light glass of white wine.

    The best time to exercise prudence and judgment is when the mind is clear. Small amounts of alcohol can affect our response times in subtle ways that we may not be aware of at the time. It’s simply safer not to drink and drive.

Leave a Reply

