Fibromyalgia Pain Management: Easier Said Than Done

Pain management is often discussed when talking about patients under going major medical problems, such as chemotherapy or surgeries. However, the type of chronic pain that comes with fibromyalgia, which is what I have, can often be compounded by other types of pain, such as menstrual pain.

On the one hand, I have my daily pain medications, Gabapentin and Cymbalta. They provide me with with relief from a good deal to most of the pain on good days. Cymbalta especially allows me to get a full night’s sleep. I am therefore able to get up, take care of myself, and even work for part to most of the day.

If I am under the influence of menstrual pain, then my body is in chaos. Menstrual pain amplifies the chronic daily pain so that it feels like my entire body is suffused in a nonspecific pain. I can control it with medications like Premysyn but, if I take too much, then I can’t do more than lay around on the couch or take a minimum four-hour nap. So I can only take 1 Premysyn pill to take the edge off. I am left with a slightly overmedicated feeling, which is better than being in a state of amplified pain.

Managing chronic pain is a delicate balance between living with too much pain and taking too much medication. The additional one pill I take for menstrual pain only slightly pushes me into the overmedicated category, which is better overall for my ability to live my life in any way that I can.

Leave a Reply

