Liebster Award Nomination? Who, moi?

liebster2_thumb

The Liebster is awarded to new bloggers as an encouragement and to get them started in the world of blogging. Its offered by fellow bloggers. A requirement is that they have fewer than 200 followers. Apparently, a fellow newbie blogger found my blog and nominated me for the award on this post of hers! Thank you so much, fellow blogger!

The rules for accepting the award are as follows:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and link to their blog. (Check!)
  2. You must answer the 10 questions given to you by the nominee before you. (Check!)
  3. You must nominate 10 of your favorite blogs with fewer than 200 followers and notify them of their nomination. (30% check!)
  4. You must come up with 10 questions for your nominees to answer. (Check!)
  5. Nominees: If you link back to this post, your response will appear as a “pingback” in the discussion section at the end of this post, which allows me to share your words with your fellow nominees.

Here are the 10 questions that I was asked to answer:

My questions for you all above:

1. What is the hardest word for you to write. Why? Not from a spelling or grammatical angle, I am talking about your feeeeeeelings.
I am not sure I have a word that is hard for me to write. If I am feeling afraid to write a word, it usually manifests with me rewriting a sentence or paragraph several times until I get it just right.

2. What time of day do you most often write? Why is that?
I am not a morning person. It can take me a few hours to have my thinking cap on, and I tend to sleep later than most people. I have a schedule that I set, and I choose to get up around 7:30a-8:00a, sometimes later if I am exhausted or sick. Afternoons into evenings is the time I write the most. Unfortunately, I tire easily. I also tend to procrastinate. I am making an effort to write in the early afternoons so that I can do what is most important (daily writing) first before my brain fog settles in.

3. Do you check your stats as much as I do to see if anyone actually reads your posts, or are you writing and then tuning out entirely until you have something else to say?
I don’t know. How much do you check? I do check my stats several times a day.

4. What was the last book you read?
I recently finished reading The Bromeliad Trilogy by Terry Pratchett, author of the Discworld series. The three stories, TruckersDiggers, and Wings, were about nomes who leave their wilderness home to find someplace else to live. They venture into a store where Inside nomes live. Hilarity ensues in typical Terry Pratchett fashion. I love this sense of humor and highly recommend his books, if you like fantasy. 

5. What was the last blog you read?
One of the blogs I follow is Flavorwire, and their blog post reply to the NY Post on the women emcees at the Golden Globe awards was the last blog post I read (yesterday).

6. What is your favorite word to write and why? Remember guys, feeeeeeelings.
Again, I’m not sure I have a favorite word to write. Sorry, but it’s true. 😀

7. What would make you delete a post after you’ve composed/published it?
I would delete a post if I wrote it in anger and, upon further consideration, decided that it might harm a relationship that is dear to me. I might also delete it if, in hindsight, the post was unduly critical in a negative one. I have already done this in the past, which is why my focus in this blog will be sharing my true feelings. Expressing myself with kindness and care is very important to me. I will carefully judge whether my need to express myself is greater than a need to consider others feelings. That may or may not be the case. If I must express feelings which others  find hurtful, I hope I can do it in the least hurtful way possible.

8. What are your thoughts on identity theft in the land of blogging? What have you done to protect yourself, your words? Will you do anything?
I had not thought about it. When I was taking a creative writing course in 2011, I posted my daily writings in this blog. Some spammer wrote in poor English in a reply suggesting I had stolen his own content! This was crazy as it had all come tumbling out of my head. I quickly hid their comment but posted my own comment refuting any such accusation that the work contained herein was anything other than my own. What else can I do except invoke copyright, invoke copyright with each post, and show proof that I did something before someone else.

9. Why did you decide to accept this award?
Because I wanted to show my thanks for being nominated. I also wanted to encourage other new bloggers in the unexpected way that I was encouraged. Paying it forward.

10. Why did you start your blog?
Because I wanted to commit to writing every day. I used to write heavily in a LiveJournal account, and I like the conversational feel that writing to an audience brings. I decided to make my daily writing commitment here.

This next part is tough because I am not sure I am following enough blogs, let alone with less than 200 followers. Here goes:

  1. http://michaelrierasmith.wordpress.com/
  2. http://mscoffeehouse.wordpress.com/
  3. http://livingwithshadows.wordpress.com/

In fact, I removed more old, stale, deleted blogs from my Reader than blogs I was able to nominate. These are the 3 bloggers I want to encourage. I had more that I really like, but they had way more than 200 followers. Sorry!

Here are my 10 questions to my nominated Liebster Bloggers:

  1. Why did you start writing your blog?
  2. How do you get motivated to write when you do not feel like it?
  3. What topics will you write about in 2014?
  4. Do you have any writing goals, and, if so, what are they?
  5. What was the first thing you ever sat down to write that was not for school?
  6. Who is your favorite author/poet and why?
  7. What do you enjoy the most?
  8. If money were no object, how would you spend your time?
  9. If you could wave a magic wand and change one thing about yourself, what would it be and why?
  10. What is your first memory about life?

Happy Blogging!

Leave a Reply

