Week 7 – Day 3 – Noun/Noun Collisions

Okay, well, today isn’t day 3 — it’s day 5. And I’m behind. Wish I could catch up sooner but I let personal things get in my way. Back to writing….

cobwebs/enrollment

The cobweb’s enrollment grew in sticky leaps and ghostly bounds, even as its dried, abandoned legs fell off the corners above Wilbur’s pigsty.

belief/orchestra

Dante conducted Hell’s orchestra of beliefs above the hot, fiery pit of ancient lost souls.

debt/embrace

Debt’s embrace held me tight in its greedy arms, obliging me to fulfill my dead obligations with the rare days of my life.

decision/ignition

My commitment to ignite my future by taking a risk in the present fired me up to relax and let it go.

hatred/prescription

A lethal dose of hatred is exactly what the Devil prescribed when Cain’s petty illness caused him to seek out the orders of Dr. Evil.

cobwebs/prescription

Charlotte ordered her cobweb to take in six flies a day, three in the morning and three at night. If the sticky fingers refused to obey her every command, Charlotte got her pharmacist’s go-ahead to abandon her web to the West winds.

belief/enrollment

Mark’s enrollment of belief came before he was old enough to be allowed to pick his own major.

debt/orchestra

Debt is a financial orchestra of ruin, a classical ballet of form and figure where dancers swing their way into an obligatory tragedy.

decision/embrace

Before you are bogged down by your decision’s embrace, adopt a devil-may-care attitude and let go into your next phase of life.

hatred/ignition

His hatred’s ignition sparked his descent into an earthly perdition.

Leave a Reply

